The essentials

  • Temporary residency (per the consulate's 2025-09-02 sheet — likely outdated): $4,129.64 per month over the last 6 months, or $69,597 in savings over 12 months.
  • Permanent residency (retired workers only): $6,923 per month or $278,447.07 in savings.
  • Visa fee: not stated in the sources we reviewed — check with the consulate.
More things to know
  • Appointments: Check the consulate's visa page for the current booking method.
  • Processing: Not stated in the sources we reviewed.
In this guide

Temporary residency requirements

RouteRequirementPeriod
Monthly income (salary or pension)$4,129.64Last 6 months
Savings or investments$69,597Last 12 months

How it's calculated: Fixed USD amounts on the consulate's visa page.

You show either income or savings, not a combination.

Permanent residency requirements

Eligibility: Retired workers only.

RouteRequirement
Monthly income$6,923
Savings or investments (12 months)$278,447.07

Pension income for the previous six months, supported by your yearly Social Security statement. The page lists the income and savings routes as "and/or".

Documents to bring

  • Completed visa application form
  • Valid passport, plus a copy of the data page
  • One recent passport-size color photo, white background, no glasses
  • If you're not a citizen of the country where the consulate is: original and copy of proof of legal status
  • Income route: bank deposits from a job or pension of at least the threshold in each of the previous six months
  • Savings route: twelve consecutive monthly bank or investment statements, each with a minimum ending balance above the threshold
  • Visa fee: check the current amount with the consulate

Documents issued in a country other than the one you're applying in generally need an apostille and an official Spanish translation — confirm the rule with the consulate.

How Dallas compares

Of the 12 consulates we track, Dallas has the lowest published income requirement for temporary residency, at about $4,130 a month. The range runs from Dallas (about $4,130) to Montreal (about $4,666).

ConsulateIncome / monthSavings
Dallas (older sheet)≈$4,130≈$69,597
New York≈$4,200≈$71,500
Denver≈$4,200≈$70,000
Houston≈$4,342≈$73,189
Orlando (older sheet)≈$4,393≈$73,215
London≈$4,435≈$74,737
New Brunswick≈$4,500≈$75,500
San Diego≈$4,510≈$75,950
Las Vegas≈$4,630≈$78,025
Washington, D.C.≈$4,647≈$77,444
Vancouver≈$4,666≈$78,646
Montreal≈$4,666≈$78,618

Amounts published in pesos, Canadian dollars or pounds are converted to US dollars at 18 MXN/USD, 13 MXN/CAD and 23.3 MXN/GBP. A lower figure isn't the only thing that matters: appointment availability, processing time and document rules differ too. See the full consulate comparison.

Do you qualify? Worked examples

  • Income of $4,600 a month after tax: about 10% above Dallas's figure — comfortably over the line, as long as six months of statements show it.
  • Income of $4,000 a month: just under. Consulates don't round up, so either wait until you can show the full amount or use the savings route.
  • Savings of $77,000: qualifies on the savings route if the balance stayed above $69,597 in each of the 12 months.
  • A couple where one partner earns: the earner applies on income and the partner through family unity.

Applying at Dallas, step by step

  1. Check you qualify against Dallas's figures, with a margin for exchange-rate moves.
  2. Gather documents — statements in the format this consulate requires (see above), passport, photo and form.
  3. Book the appointment: Check the consulate's visa page for the current booking method.
  4. Attend in person: an officer reviews your file and interviews you, and you give fingerprints. Bring the visa fee — confirm the amount and payment method first.
  5. Collect the visa: Not stated in the sources we reviewed.
  6. Enter Mexico within 180 days and start the canje at INM within 30 days.

Why applications fall short

  • Income just below the published figure, or a savings balance that dipped below it in one month.
  • Statements that aren't in the required format — printouts where originals or bank-stamped copies are required.
  • Mixing income and savings: consulates assess one route, not both added together.
  • Missing proof of legal status for applicants who aren't citizens of the country they're applying in.
  • Remote workers without an employer letter where the consulate requires one.

What's different about Dallas

  • The savings test uses each month's ending balance, so every single month must clear the bar.
  • Direct permanent residency on income is described as being for retired workers only.

After your visa is approved

Your visa sticker is valid for 180 days. Enter Mexico, make sure your entry is recorded as a canje, and visit an INM office within 30 days to get your residency card. Step-by-step instructions and 2026 fees are in our canje guide; when the card nears expiry, see how to renew.

Official contact details

Compare other consulates

Frequently asked questions

How much income do I need for Mexican residency at the Dallas consulate?

For temporary residency, the Dallas consulate's published requirement is $4,129.64 per month over the last 6 months, or $69,597 in savings/investments over 12 months.

How do I book a visa appointment at the Mexican consulate in Dallas?

Check the consulate's visa page for the current booking method.

How long does the Dallas consulate take to issue a residency visa?

Not stated in the sources we reviewed.

Can I combine income and savings at the Dallas consulate?

No. Like other consulates, it assesses either monthly income or savings and investments — not both added together.

Do I have to apply at my nearest consulate?

You apply at a Mexican consulate in a country where you're legally present. Some consulates serve only their own jurisdiction, so check before booking; requirements, fees and waiting times differ between them.

Sources & official references

This page is general information, not legal or tax advice. Consulates interpret rules differently — confirm with your consulate or a licensed professional before acting.