The essentials
- Temporary residency: CA$6,461 per month over the last 6 months (≈$4,666 USD), or CA$108,894 in savings over 12 months (≈$78,646 USD).
- Permanent residency (retirees or pensioners aged 60 or over): CA$10,832 per month or CA$435,672 in savings.
- Visa fee: not stated in the sources we reviewed — check with the consulate.
More things to know
- Appointments: Check the consulate's visa page for the current booking method.
- Processing: Not stated in the sources we reviewed.
In this guide
Temporary residency requirements
| Route | Requirement | Period |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly income (salary or pension) | CA$6,461 (≈$4,666 USD) | Last 6 months |
| Savings or investments | CA$108,894 (≈$78,646 USD) | Last 12 months |
How it's calculated: Fixed CAD amounts on the consulate's web pages.
You show either income or savings, not a combination.
Permanent residency requirements
Eligibility: Retirees or pensioners aged 60 or over.
| Route | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Monthly income | CA$10,832 (≈$7,823 USD) |
| Savings or investments (12 months) | CA$435,672 (≈$314,652 USD) |
Tax-free monthly pension income over the threshold for the past six months.
Documents to bring
- Completed visa application form
- Valid passport, plus a copy of the data page
- One recent passport-size color photo, white background, no glasses
- If you're not a citizen of the country where the consulate is: original and copy of proof of legal status
- Income route: tax-free employment or pension income over the threshold in each of the last six months
- Savings route: average monthly balance over the last 12 months
- Electronic statements are not accepted unless they carry an original ink stamp from your bank or investment company
- Originals plus photocopies
- Visa fee: check the current amount with the consulate
Documents issued in a country other than the one you're applying in generally need an apostille and an official Spanish translation — confirm the rule with the consulate.
How Vancouver compares
Of the 12 consulates we track, Vancouver has the 11th-lowest published income requirement for temporary residency, at about $4,666 a month. The range runs from Dallas (about $4,130) to Montreal (about $4,666).
| Consulate | Income / month | Savings |
|---|---|---|
| Dallas (older sheet) | ≈$4,130 | ≈$69,597 |
| New York | ≈$4,200 | ≈$71,500 |
| Denver | ≈$4,200 | ≈$70,000 |
| Houston | ≈$4,342 | ≈$73,189 |
| Orlando (older sheet) | ≈$4,393 | ≈$73,215 |
| London | ≈$4,435 | ≈$74,737 |
| New Brunswick | ≈$4,500 | ≈$75,500 |
| San Diego | ≈$4,510 | ≈$75,950 |
| Las Vegas | ≈$4,630 | ≈$78,025 |
| Washington, D.C. | ≈$4,647 | ≈$77,444 |
| Vancouver | ≈$4,666 | ≈$78,646 |
| Montreal | ≈$4,666 | ≈$78,618 |
Amounts published in pesos, Canadian dollars or pounds are converted to US dollars at 18 MXN/USD, 13 MXN/CAD and 23.3 MXN/GBP. A lower figure isn't the only thing that matters: appointment availability, processing time and document rules differ too. See the full consulate comparison.
Do you qualify? Worked examples
- Income of CA$7,200 a month after tax: about 10% above Vancouver's figure — comfortably over the line, as long as six months of statements show it.
- Income of CA$6,200 a month: just under. Consulates don't round up, so either wait until you can show the full amount or use the savings route.
- Savings of CA$120,000: qualifies on the savings route if the balance stayed above CA$108,894 in each of the 12 months.
- A couple where one partner earns: the earner applies on income and the partner through family unity.
Applying at Vancouver, step by step
- Check you qualify against Vancouver's figures, with a margin for exchange-rate moves.
- Gather documents — statements in the format this consulate requires (see above), passport, photo and form.
- Book the appointment: Check the consulate's visa page for the current booking method.
- Attend in person: an officer reviews your file and interviews you, and you give fingerprints. Bring the visa fee — confirm the amount and payment method first.
- Collect the visa: Not stated in the sources we reviewed.
- Enter Mexico within 180 days and start the canje at INM within 30 days.
Why applications fall short
- Income just below the published figure, or a savings balance that dipped below it in one month.
- Statements that aren't in the required format — printouts where originals or bank-stamped copies are required.
- Mixing income and savings: consulates assess one route, not both added together.
- Missing proof of legal status for applicants who aren't citizens of the country they're applying in.
- Remote workers without an employer letter where the consulate requires one.
What's different about Vancouver
- You can't combine qualifying options — each applicant chooses one.
- Permanent residency on economic solvency is limited to retirees or pensioners aged 60 or over.
After your visa is approved
Your visa sticker is valid for 180 days. Enter Mexico, make sure your entry is recorded as a canje, and visit an INM office within 30 days to get your residency card. Step-by-step instructions and 2026 fees are in our canje guide; when the card nears expiry, see how to renew.
Official contact details
- Website: consulmex.sre.gob.mx/vancouver/
Compare other consulates
$4,510/mo
San Diego, CA
Consulate General of Mexico in San Diego
$4,630/mo
Las Vegas, NV
Consulate of Mexico in Las Vegas
$4,342.08/mo
Houston, TX
Consulate General of Mexico in Houston
$4,200/mo
New York, NY
Consulate General of Mexico in New York
$4,393/mo
Orlando, FL
Consulate General of Mexico in Orlando
$4,500/mo
New Brunswick, NJ
Consulate of Mexico in New Brunswick
MX$83,640/mo
Washington, D.C.
Consular Section, Embassy of Mexico in Washington, D.C.
$4,200/mo
Denver, CO
Consulate of Mexico in Denver
$4,129.64/mo
Dallas, TX
Consulate General of Mexico in Dallas
CA$6,460/mo
Montreal, QC
Consulate General of Mexico in Montreal
£3,425.91/mo
London
Consulate of Mexico in London
Frequently asked questions
How much income do I need for Mexican residency at the Vancouver consulate?
For temporary residency, the Vancouver consulate's published requirement is CA$6,461 per month over the last 6 months, or CA$108,894 in savings/investments over 12 months.
How do I book a visa appointment at the Mexican consulate in Vancouver?
Check the consulate's visa page for the current booking method.
How long does the Vancouver consulate take to issue a residency visa?
Not stated in the sources we reviewed.
Can I combine income and savings at the Vancouver consulate?
No. Like other consulates, it assesses either monthly income or savings and investments — not both added together.
Do I have to apply at my nearest consulate?
You apply at a Mexican consulate in a country where you're legally present. Some consulates serve only their own jurisdiction, so check before booking; requirements, fees and waiting times differ between them.
Sources & official references
- Temporary Resident Visa (consulate web page) — checked October 12, 2026
- Permanent Resident Visa (consulate web page) — checked October 12, 2026
This page is general information, not legal or tax advice. Consulates interpret rules differently — confirm with your consulate or a licensed professional before acting.