The essentials
- Temporary residency: $4,342.08 per month over the last 6 months, or $73,188.95 in savings over 12 months.
- Visa fee: $54 USD, non-refundable. Payment: Payment method not stated on the requirements sheet.
- Appointments: Not stated on the requirements sheet — check the consulate website for the current booking method. Visa issuance is subject to a consular interview.
More things to know
- Processing: Up to 10 business days, per SRE visa guidelines.
In this guide
Temporary residency requirements
| Route | Requirement | Period |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly income (salary or pension) | $4,342.08 | Last 6 months |
| Savings or investments | $73,188.95 | Last 12 months |
How it's calculated: UMA-based: 680 days of UMA (income) and 11,400 days of UMA (savings), with approximate USD amounts.
Dependents: Add 220 days of UMA (approx. $1,405.02 USD) per month for each direct economic dependent (spouse, parent or child), and prove the relationship with original marriage or birth certificates.
You show either income or savings, not a combination.
Documents to bring
- Completed visa application form
- Valid passport, plus a copy of the data page
- One recent passport-size color photo, white background, no glasses
- If you're not a citizen of the country where the consulate is: original and copy of proof of legal status
- Bank or investment statements certified by your bank (signature and/or stamp) for each of the last 12 months, or
- A hand-signed bank letter showing your name exactly as on your passport and the month-end balance for each of the last 12 months, plus copies of the statements
- Income route: pension award letter (e.g., Social Security) plus 6 months of certified statements showing deposits, or a hand-signed employer letter plus 6 months of pay stubs
- Visa fee: $54 — Payment method not stated on the requirements sheet
Documents issued outside the US or Mexico generally need an apostille and an official Spanish translation.
How Houston compares
Of the 6 consulates we track, Houston has the 3rd-lowest published income requirement for temporary residency, at about $4,342 a month. The range runs from San Diego (about $4,049) to Washington, D.C. (about $4,647).
| Consulate | Income / month | Savings |
|---|---|---|
| San Diego | ≈$4,049 | ≈$68,241 |
| New York | ≈$4,200 | ≈$71,500 |
| Houston | ≈$4,342 | ≈$73,189 |
| Orlando (older sheet) | ≈$4,393 | ≈$73,215 |
| New Brunswick | ≈$4,500 | ≈$75,500 |
| Washington, D.C. | ≈$4,647 | ≈$77,444 |
Peso amounts are converted at 18 MXN/USD. A lower figure isn't the only thing that matters: appointment availability, processing time and document rules differ too. See the full consulate comparison.
Do you qualify? Worked examples
- Income of $4,800 a month after tax: about 10% above Houston's figure — comfortably over the line, as long as six months of statements show it.
- Income of $4,200 a month: just under. Consulates don't round up, so either wait until you can show the full amount or use the savings route.
- Savings of $81,000: qualifies on the savings route if the balance stayed above $73,188.95 in each of the 12 months.
- A couple where one partner earns: the earner applies on income and the partner through family unity; see the dependents rule above.
Applying at Houston, step by step
- Check you qualify against Houston's figures, with a margin for exchange-rate moves.
- Gather documents — statements in the format this consulate requires (see above), passport, photo and form.
- Book the appointment: Not stated on the requirements sheet — check the consulate website for the current booking method. Visa issuance is subject to a consular interview.
- Attend in person: an officer reviews your file and interviews you, and you give fingerprints. Bring the fee — payment method not stated on the requirements sheet.
- Collect the visa: Up to 10 business days, per SRE visa guidelines.
- Enter Mexico within 180 days and start the canje at INM within 30 days.
Why applications fall short
- Income just below the published figure, or a savings balance that dipped below it in one month.
- Statements that aren't in the required format — printouts where originals or bank-stamped copies are required.
- Mixing income and savings: consulates assess one route, not both added together.
- Missing proof of legal status for applicants who aren't citizens of the country they're applying in.
- Remote workers without an employer letter where the consulate requires one.
What's different about Houston
- Houston publishes its savings test as month-end balances, so every single month must clear the bar.
- Photo size is specified as 39 mm × 31 mm.
- The published document is version 2025.10.27; the approximate USD figures may be updated for the 2026 UMA.
After your visa is approved
Your visa sticker is valid for 180 days. Enter Mexico, make sure your entry is recorded as a canje, and visit an INM office within 30 days to get your residency card. Step-by-step instructions and 2026 fees are in our canje guide; when the card nears expiry, see how to renew.
Official contact details
- Website: consulmex.sre.gob.mx/houston/
- Address: 10555 Richmond Ave., Houston, TX 77042
- Phone: (713) 271-6800
Compare other consulates
$4,049/mo
San Diego, CA
Consulate General of Mexico in San Diego
$4,200/mo
New York, NY
Consulate General of Mexico in New York
$4,393/mo
Orlando, FL
Consulate General of Mexico in Orlando
$4,500/mo
New Brunswick, NJ
Consulate of Mexico in New Brunswick
MX$83,640/mo
Washington, D.C.
Consular Section, Embassy of Mexico in Washington, D.C.
Frequently asked questions
How much income do I need for Mexican residency at the Houston consulate?
For temporary residency, the Houston consulate's published requirement is $4,342.08 per month over the last 6 months, or $73,188.95 in savings/investments over 12 months.
How do I book a visa appointment at the Mexican consulate in Houston?
Not stated on the requirements sheet — check the consulate website for the current booking method. Visa issuance is subject to a consular interview.
How long does the Houston consulate take to issue a residency visa?
Up to 10 business days, per SRE visa guidelines.
How much is the Mexican visa fee at Houston?
$54 USD, non-refundable. Payment: Payment method not stated on the requirements sheet.
Can I combine income and savings at the Houston consulate?
No. Like other consulates, it assesses either monthly income or savings and investments — not both added together.
Do I have to apply at my nearest consulate?
You apply at a Mexican consulate in a country where you're legally present. Some consulates serve only their own jurisdiction, so check before booking; requirements, fees and waiting times differ between them.
Sources & official references
This page is general information, not legal or tax advice. Consulates interpret rules differently — confirm with your consulate or a licensed professional before acting.