The essentials
- Temporary residency: £3,425.91 per month over the last 6 months (≈$4,435 USD), or £57,736.77 in savings over 12 months (≈$74,737 USD).
- Permanent residency (economic solvency): £5,743.44 per month or £230,997.46 in savings.
- Visa fee: not stated in the sources we reviewed — check with the consulate.
More things to know
- Appointments: Through MiConsulado.
- Processing: Not stated in the sources we reviewed.
In this guide
Temporary residency requirements
| Route | Requirement | Period |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly income (salary or pension) | £3,425.91 (≈$4,435 USD) | Last 6 months |
| Savings or investments | £57,736.77 (≈$74,737 USD) | Last 12 months |
How it's calculated: UMA-based: 680 days of UMA (income) and 11,460 days (savings), converted to pounds in the consulate's 2026 equivalence chart at HSBC's January 30, 2026 rate.
You show either income or savings, not a combination.
Permanent residency requirements
Eligibility: Economic solvency.
| Route | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Monthly income | £5,743.44 (≈$7,435 USD) |
| Savings or investments (12 months) | £230,997.46 (≈$299,013 USD) |
Net monthly employment or pension income above the threshold for the last six months. The thresholds are 1,140 days of UMA (income) and 45,850 days (savings), converted to pounds in the consulate's chart.
Documents to bring
- Completed visa application form
- Valid passport, plus a copy of the data page
- One recent passport-size color photo, white background, no glasses
- If you're not a citizen of the country where the consulate is: original and copy of proof of legal status
- Savings route: certified bank statements showing the average monthly balance for the last 12 months
- Income route: an original letter from your employer or pension provider, six months of payslips or pension receipts, and bank statements showing the deposits
- Visa fee: check the current amount with the consulate
Documents issued in a country other than the one you're applying in generally need an apostille and an official Spanish translation — confirm the rule with the consulate.
How London compares
Of the 12 consulates we track, London has the 6th-lowest published income requirement for temporary residency, at about $4,435 a month. The range runs from Dallas (about $4,130) to Montreal (about $4,666).
| Consulate | Income / month | Savings |
|---|---|---|
| Dallas (older sheet) | ≈$4,130 | ≈$69,597 |
| New York | ≈$4,200 | ≈$71,500 |
| Denver | ≈$4,200 | ≈$70,000 |
| Houston | ≈$4,342 | ≈$73,189 |
| Orlando (older sheet) | ≈$4,393 | ≈$73,215 |
| London | ≈$4,435 | ≈$74,737 |
| New Brunswick | ≈$4,500 | ≈$75,500 |
| San Diego | ≈$4,510 | ≈$75,950 |
| Las Vegas | ≈$4,630 | ≈$78,025 |
| Washington, D.C. | ≈$4,647 | ≈$77,444 |
| Vancouver | ≈$4,666 | ≈$78,646 |
| Montreal | ≈$4,666 | ≈$78,618 |
Amounts published in pesos, Canadian dollars or pounds are converted to US dollars at 18 MXN/USD, 13 MXN/CAD and 23.3 MXN/GBP. A lower figure isn't the only thing that matters: appointment availability, processing time and document rules differ too. See the full consulate comparison.
Do you qualify? Worked examples
- Income of £3,800 a month after tax: about 10% above London's figure — comfortably over the line, as long as six months of statements show it.
- Income of £3,300 a month: just under. Consulates don't round up, so either wait until you can show the full amount or use the savings route.
- Savings of £64,000: qualifies on the savings route if the balance stayed above £57,736.77 in each of the 12 months.
- A couple where one partner earns: the earner applies on income and the partner through family unity.
Applying at London, step by step
- Check you qualify against London's figures, with a margin for exchange-rate moves.
- Gather documents — statements in the format this consulate requires (see above), passport, photo and form.
- Book the appointment: Through MiConsulado.
- Attend in person: an officer reviews your file and interviews you, and you give fingerprints. Bring the visa fee — confirm the amount and payment method first.
- Collect the visa: Not stated in the sources we reviewed.
- Enter Mexico within 180 days and start the canje at INM within 30 days.
Why applications fall short
- Income just below the published figure, or a savings balance that dipped below it in one month.
- Statements that aren't in the required format — printouts where originals or bank-stamped copies are required.
- Mixing income and savings: consulates assess one route, not both added together.
- Missing proof of legal status for applicants who aren't citizens of the country they're applying in.
- Remote workers without an employer letter where the consulate requires one.
What's different about London
- The pound amounts are the consulate's own estimates; the legal thresholds are in UMA days, so the pound figure moves with the exchange rate.
- The consular section doesn't process work permits — a Mexican employer applies to INM first.
- The chart's web address still contains "2022", but its figures use the UMA in force from February 1, 2026.
After your visa is approved
Your visa sticker is valid for 180 days. Enter Mexico, make sure your entry is recorded as a canje, and visit an INM office within 30 days to get your residency card. Step-by-step instructions and 2026 fees are in our canje guide; when the card nears expiry, see how to renew.
Official contact details
- Website: consulmex.sre.gob.mx/reinounido/
Compare other consulates
$4,510/mo
San Diego, CA
Consulate General of Mexico in San Diego
$4,630/mo
Las Vegas, NV
Consulate of Mexico in Las Vegas
$4,342.08/mo
Houston, TX
Consulate General of Mexico in Houston
$4,200/mo
New York, NY
Consulate General of Mexico in New York
$4,393/mo
Orlando, FL
Consulate General of Mexico in Orlando
$4,500/mo
New Brunswick, NJ
Consulate of Mexico in New Brunswick
MX$83,640/mo
Washington, D.C.
Consular Section, Embassy of Mexico in Washington, D.C.
$4,200/mo
Denver, CO
Consulate of Mexico in Denver
$4,129.64/mo
Dallas, TX
Consulate General of Mexico in Dallas
CA$6,461/mo
Vancouver, BC
Consulate General of Mexico in Vancouver
CA$6,460/mo
Montreal, QC
Consulate General of Mexico in Montreal
Frequently asked questions
How much income do I need for Mexican residency at the London consulate?
For temporary residency, the London consulate's published requirement is £3,425.91 per month over the last 6 months, or £57,736.77 in savings/investments over 12 months.
How do I book a visa appointment at the Mexican consulate in London?
Through MiConsulado.
How long does the London consulate take to issue a residency visa?
Not stated in the sources we reviewed.
Can I combine income and savings at the London consulate?
No. Like other consulates, it assesses either monthly income or savings and investments — not both added together.
Do I have to apply at my nearest consulate?
You apply at a Mexican consulate in a country where you're legally present. Some consulates serve only their own jurisdiction, so check before booking; requirements, fees and waiting times differ between them.
Sources & official references
- Equivalency chart (2026, PDF) — checked October 12, 2026
- Temporary resident visa by economic solvency (web page) — checked October 12, 2026
- Permanent Residence Visa by economic solvency (web page) — checked October 12, 2026
This page is general information, not legal or tax advice. Consulates interpret rules differently — confirm with your consulate or a licensed professional before acting.