The essentials

  • Temporary residency: $4,500 per month over the last 6 months, or $75,500 in savings over 12 months.
  • Permanent residency (officially retired or age 62+): $7,500 per month or $301,500 in savings.
  • Visa fee: $56 USD, non-refundable. Payment: Credit or debit card (Visa or Mastercard).
More things to know
  • Appointments: By email to visasnub@sre.gob.mx.
  • Processing: Not stated. If extra documents are requested, you are given a new appointment.
In this guide

Temporary residency requirements

RouteRequirementPeriod
Monthly income (salary or pension)$4,500Last 6 months
Savings or investments$75,500Last 12 months

How it's calculated: Fixed USD amounts published for 2026.

You show either income or savings, not a combination.

Permanent residency requirements

Eligibility: Officially retired or age 62+.

RouteRequirement
Monthly income$7,500
Savings or investments (12 months)$301,500

The income route accepts a job or pension yielding the amount after taxes for the previous 6 months.

Documents to bring

  • Completed visa application form
  • Valid passport, plus a copy of the data page
  • One recent passport-size color photo, white background, no glasses
  • If you're not a citizen of the country where the consulate is: original and copy of proof of legal status
  • Original statements only; if you bank paperlessly, have printed statements stamped by your branch
  • Simple printouts of downloaded statements are not accepted
  • Income route: the last 6 pay stubs (or SSA letter) together with 6 months of bank statements showing the direct deposits
  • Visa fee: $56 — Credit or debit card (Visa or Mastercard)

Documents issued outside the US or Mexico generally need an apostille and an official Spanish translation.

How New Brunswick compares

Of the 6 consulates we track, New Brunswick has the 5th-lowest published income requirement for temporary residency, at about $4,500 a month. The range runs from San Diego (about $4,049) to Washington, D.C. (about $4,647).

ConsulateIncome / monthSavings
San Diego≈$4,049≈$68,241
New York≈$4,200≈$71,500
Houston≈$4,342≈$73,189
Orlando (older sheet)≈$4,393≈$73,215
New Brunswick≈$4,500≈$75,500
Washington, D.C.≈$4,647≈$77,444

Peso amounts are converted at 18 MXN/USD. A lower figure isn't the only thing that matters: appointment availability, processing time and document rules differ too. See the full consulate comparison.

Do you qualify? Worked examples

  • Income of $5,000 a month after tax: about 10% above New Brunswick's figure — comfortably over the line, as long as six months of statements show it.
  • Income of $4,300 a month: just under. Consulates don't round up, so either wait until you can show the full amount or use the savings route.
  • Savings of $84,000: qualifies on the savings route if the balance stayed above $75,500 in each of the 12 months.
  • A couple where one partner earns: the earner applies on income and the partner through family unity.

Applying at New Brunswick, step by step

  1. Check you qualify against New Brunswick's figures, with a margin for exchange-rate moves.
  2. Gather documents — statements in the format this consulate requires (see above), passport, photo and form.
  3. Book the appointment: By email to visasnub@sre.gob.mx.
  4. Attend in person: an officer reviews your file and interviews you, and you give fingerprints. Bring the fee — credit or debit card (visa or mastercard).
  5. Collect the visa: Not stated. If extra documents are requested, you are given a new appointment.
  6. Enter Mexico within 180 days and start the canje at INM within 30 days.

Why applications fall short

  • Income just below the published figure, or a savings balance that dipped below it in one month.
  • Statements that aren't in the required format — printouts where originals or bank-stamped copies are required.
  • Mixing income and savings: consulates assess one route, not both added together.
  • Missing proof of legal status for applicants who aren't citizens of the country they're applying in.
  • Remote workers without an employer letter where the consulate requires one.

What's different about New Brunswick

  • Among the highest published USD thresholds of the consulates we've verified.
  • Appointments are requested by email rather than only through the online system.

After your visa is approved

Your visa sticker is valid for 180 days. Enter Mexico, make sure your entry is recorded as a canje, and visit an INM office within 30 days to get your residency card. Step-by-step instructions and 2026 fees are in our canje guide; when the card nears expiry, see how to renew.

Official contact details

Compare other consulates

Frequently asked questions

How much income do I need for Mexican residency at the New Brunswick consulate?

For temporary residency, the New Brunswick consulate's published requirement is $4,500 per month over the last 6 months, or $75,500 in savings/investments over 12 months.

How do I book a visa appointment at the Mexican consulate in New Brunswick?

By email to visasnub@sre.gob.mx.

How long does the New Brunswick consulate take to issue a residency visa?

Not stated. If extra documents are requested, you are given a new appointment.

How much is the Mexican visa fee at New Brunswick?

$56 USD, non-refundable. Payment: Credit or debit card (Visa or Mastercard).

Can I combine income and savings at the New Brunswick consulate?

No. Like other consulates, it assesses either monthly income or savings and investments — not both added together.

Do I have to apply at my nearest consulate?

You apply at a Mexican consulate in a country where you're legally present. Some consulates serve only their own jurisdiction, so check before booking; requirements, fees and waiting times differ between them.

Sources & official references

This page is general information, not legal or tax advice. Consulates interpret rules differently — confirm with your consulate or a licensed professional before acting.