The essentials
- Temporary residency: $4,200 per month over the last 6 months, or $70,000 in savings over 12 months.
- Permanent residency (retired applicants): $6,940 per month or $279,000 in savings.
- Visa fee: not stated in the sources we reviewed — check with the consulate.
More things to know
- Appointments: Check the consulate's visa page for the current booking method.
- Processing: Not stated in the sources we reviewed.
In this guide
Temporary residency requirements
| Route | Requirement | Period |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly income (salary or pension) | $4,200 | Last 6 months |
| Savings or investments | $70,000 | Last 12 months |
How it's calculated: Fixed USD amounts on the consulate's visa page.
You show either income or savings, not a combination.
Permanent residency requirements
Eligibility: Retired applicants.
| Route | Requirement |
|---|---|
| Monthly income | $6,940 |
| Savings or investments (12 months) | $279,000 |
Minimum monthly pension income for the last six months. If it comes from Social Security, also bring a Benefit Verification Letter stating the exact amount you receive.
Documents to bring
- Completed visa application form
- Valid passport, plus a copy of the data page
- One recent passport-size color photo, white background, no glasses
- If you're not a citizen of the country where the consulate is: original and copy of proof of legal status
- Income route: employment or pension income, free of liens, for each of the last six months
- Savings route: monthly statements for the last 12 months with the minimum balance every month — only the first page of each statement is required
- Visa fee: check the current amount with the consulate
Documents issued in a country other than the one you're applying in generally need an apostille and an official Spanish translation — confirm the rule with the consulate.
How Denver compares
Of the 12 consulates we track, Denver has the 3rd-lowest published income requirement for temporary residency, at about $4,200 a month. The range runs from Dallas (about $4,130) to Montreal (about $4,666).
| Consulate | Income / month | Savings |
|---|---|---|
| Dallas (older sheet) | ≈$4,130 | ≈$69,597 |
| New York | ≈$4,200 | ≈$71,500 |
| Denver | ≈$4,200 | ≈$70,000 |
| Houston | ≈$4,342 | ≈$73,189 |
| Orlando (older sheet) | ≈$4,393 | ≈$73,215 |
| London | ≈$4,435 | ≈$74,737 |
| New Brunswick | ≈$4,500 | ≈$75,500 |
| San Diego | ≈$4,510 | ≈$75,950 |
| Las Vegas | ≈$4,630 | ≈$78,025 |
| Washington, D.C. | ≈$4,647 | ≈$77,444 |
| Vancouver | ≈$4,666 | ≈$78,646 |
| Montreal | ≈$4,666 | ≈$78,618 |
Amounts published in pesos, Canadian dollars or pounds are converted to US dollars at 18 MXN/USD, 13 MXN/CAD and 23.3 MXN/GBP. A lower figure isn't the only thing that matters: appointment availability, processing time and document rules differ too. See the full consulate comparison.
Do you qualify? Worked examples
- Income of $4,700 a month after tax: about 10% above Denver's figure — comfortably over the line, as long as six months of statements show it.
- Income of $4,000 a month: just under. Consulates don't round up, so either wait until you can show the full amount or use the savings route.
- Savings of $77,000: qualifies on the savings route if the balance stayed above $70,000 in each of the 12 months.
- A couple where one partner earns: the earner applies on income and the partner through family unity.
Applying at Denver, step by step
- Check you qualify against Denver's figures, with a margin for exchange-rate moves.
- Gather documents — statements in the format this consulate requires (see above), passport, photo and form.
- Book the appointment: Check the consulate's visa page for the current booking method.
- Attend in person: an officer reviews your file and interviews you, and you give fingerprints. Bring the visa fee — confirm the amount and payment method first.
- Collect the visa: Not stated in the sources we reviewed.
- Enter Mexico within 180 days and start the canje at INM within 30 days.
Why applications fall short
- Income just below the published figure, or a savings balance that dipped below it in one month.
- Statements that aren't in the required format — printouts where originals or bank-stamped copies are required.
- Mixing income and savings: consulates assess one route, not both added together.
- Missing proof of legal status for applicants who aren't citizens of the country they're applying in.
- Remote workers without an employer letter where the consulate requires one.
What's different about Denver
- Owning property in Mexico worth more than US$558,000 (not held through a fideicomiso) is a separate route to temporary residency.
- Social Security income needs a Benefit Verification Letter.
- The consulate's 2025 PDF listed only a savings figure; the current web page adds the income route.
After your visa is approved
Your visa sticker is valid for 180 days. Enter Mexico, make sure your entry is recorded as a canje, and visit an INM office within 30 days to get your residency card. Step-by-step instructions and 2026 fees are in our canje guide; when the card nears expiry, see how to renew.
Official contact details
- Website: consulmex.sre.gob.mx/denver/
Compare other consulates
$4,510/mo
San Diego, CA
Consulate General of Mexico in San Diego
$4,630/mo
Las Vegas, NV
Consulate of Mexico in Las Vegas
$4,342.08/mo
Houston, TX
Consulate General of Mexico in Houston
$4,200/mo
New York, NY
Consulate General of Mexico in New York
$4,393/mo
Orlando, FL
Consulate General of Mexico in Orlando
$4,500/mo
New Brunswick, NJ
Consulate of Mexico in New Brunswick
MX$83,640/mo
Washington, D.C.
Consular Section, Embassy of Mexico in Washington, D.C.
$4,129.64/mo
Dallas, TX
Consulate General of Mexico in Dallas
CA$6,461/mo
Vancouver, BC
Consulate General of Mexico in Vancouver
CA$6,460/mo
Montreal, QC
Consulate General of Mexico in Montreal
£3,425.91/mo
London
Consulate of Mexico in London
Frequently asked questions
How much income do I need for Mexican residency at the Denver consulate?
For temporary residency, the Denver consulate's published requirement is $4,200 per month over the last 6 months, or $70,000 in savings/investments over 12 months.
How do I book a visa appointment at the Mexican consulate in Denver?
Check the consulate's visa page for the current booking method.
How long does the Denver consulate take to issue a residency visa?
Not stated in the sources we reviewed.
Can I combine income and savings at the Denver consulate?
No. Like other consulates, it assesses either monthly income or savings and investments — not both added together.
Do I have to apply at my nearest consulate?
You apply at a Mexican consulate in a country where you're legally present. Some consulates serve only their own jurisdiction, so check before booking; requirements, fees and waiting times differ between them.
Sources & official references
This page is general information, not legal or tax advice. Consulates interpret rules differently — confirm with your consulate or a licensed professional before acting.